Same Doodle

 

She waded across the rocky river.
She said to me in perfect syllables
something to say is worth some care.
Don’t dance around it if it is not there.

Riffs licks and cheap cliche’s
how to get more than tickertape?
If nothing is remembered or anticipated
it’s like a monkey with bad habits.

Strip stripe grey black and white
same doodle up or down a little.

Why do you want to get away with it
gift-wrapped in ribbons and bows?
What’s inside really ought to matter.
To sugar and spice just say no.

I said the word ‘long’ and I held it
like I really really really meant it.
I started to say the word ‘short’ but
it got cut off and I swallowed it.

Strip stripe grey black and white
same doodle up or down a little.

Two brothers who didn’t act like it
were beach bums on opposite coasts.
Two strangers a generation apart
took a long road trip and got close.

She finished my sentences with
unexpected thoughts like a wife.
She pushed me into the water so that
she could pull me out and save my life.

Strip stripe grey black and white
same doodle up or down a little.

 

 

 

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in love, poem, poetry, song and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

