Could Have Been

Could have been a photographer.
I read the books and took the classes.
I carried around my old SLR
and camera bag full of gadgets.

The wideangles and the telephotos,
the f-stops and the depth of field,
the waiting for the sunlight to change,
the desire to get it all just right.

But my way didn’t go that way
the turns I took took me astray
but I still look at everything
with a photographer’s eye.

Could have been a great musician
if I’d have practiced and kept it up.
I’d hear melodies in city streets
and harmonies in passing storms.

I read and wrote notes in all genres.
I ate compositions and breathed timbres.
I followed geniuses and bands.
Odd instruments ended up my hands.

But my way didn’t go that way
the turns I took took me astray
but I still hear everything
with a musician’s ear.

I could’ve been a college professor.
I had a gift for explaining complexity.
I wanted to open up the minds of the young
to the layered delicacy of language.

I studied at the top schools from the best
thinkers in the field developing the most
current theories and I criticized
all their arguments and analyses.

But my way didn’t go that way
the turns I took took me astray
but I still break down everything
like a damn professor.

Like most people, I ended up wrangling
this or that job for a while tangling
family and work and mishandling
my opportunities with a few obscenities.

Although my way did not go my way
what is astray and what is not is never
a decision we are able to make
without looking back.

 

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

