Jambalaya Hurriya

Jambalaya
mix and light the lovely match
Hurriya
never given always taken

Hells bells
churches and bars proliferate
hells bells
prayers and cheers alternate

In denial
nihilism murdering realism
holy moly
escapism smothering soul

The old syndrome
we sat there long enough to die
home sweet home
get off the couch and say goodbye

Brothers and sisters
listen to the ice melting
mothers fathers
helter skelter is coming back to roost

Oh my oh my
I was dumb when I was young
Oh my oh my
bought and sold now that I’m old

Unbelievable
spicy dream in mid-day
incredible
fresh future come to stay

Jambalaya
mix and light the lovely match
Hurriya
never given always taken

 

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

