Something for Nothing

Once all I wanted
was something for nothing
I used to wish that
the bells of heaven
would come down ringing
songs of newness
to gully-wash away
everything useless.

I used to dally
between odd demands
afraid to finish
refusing to polish
but mixed into my mess
were streaks of discipline
and I must confess
it has its adrenaline.

Effort like clouds, reward is rare
from the comfort of a well-made chair
see the lightning split the air.

I’ve come to play
games and call that
work but the work
will not disappear
somebody must make
a middle to marry
the banged up beginning
to the coiffed ending.

I used up all my
desire for desire
I burned it for heat
through a long winter
these days drawn
to order wondering
when will the circle
return to floundering.

Effort like clouds, reward is rare
from the comfort of a well-made chair
see the lightning split the air.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

