Super

You’ve said you want to know me better?
Do you want to know my superpower –
that ability that is a part of me
that I know intimately but you cannot see?
Can I trust you to not reveal
the essence of me that I conceal?

Who are you?
What can you do
to save the day
in the darkness where
nobody is looking?

I fly up into the heavens
walking through pure rock
seeing the flywheel of the world
and holding it still while
I stare at you smiling.

Behind the veil of my normality
I peer into the mists of mythology
standing on the south pole until it melts
I hear voices that are somewhere else
spoken by wise men in ancient Egypt
I raise my hands and the moon expands.

Who are you?
What can you do
to save the day
in the darkness where
nobody is looking?

There is evil in the city
who will expose it
and cut through the villainy
to show its vulnerability?
The Master of Words.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

