Kitchen

I hang out in the kitchen
the smells in my eyes
bread is a friend of mine
I collaborate with cheese.

The only room in the damn house
so full of noise and sweet silence.

Bad habits in the kitchen
sometimes I don’t clean up
my culinary concoctions
reek of creativity.

The one room in the whole house
so full of noise and savory silence.

Who will feel sorry
for the kitchen at night
neglected and dark
and out of the limelight?

So when I cannot sleep
I sneak into the kitchen
I brew myself a cup
and listen to the refrigerator.

The one room in the whole house
so full of noise and savory silence.

The only room in the damn house
so full of noise and sweet silence.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

