Thoughtlessly Fulfilled

I float about
fifty feet out
discerning whether
memory serves
recent purposes
while relegating
past to degrading
past.

I must prefer
continuing to bob
because I am here
still serving the most
recent purposes
only.

I am pretty sure
doing things in natural
order rather than
planning on paper
like a computer
would save my skin
were I to sink
instead of thinking
or swimming.

The idea was
when I descended
from the cliff top
through the eucalyptus
and ice plant
and dirt to sand
and sand to foam
and splash to billow
only minimally
waving my arms
to keep myself
breathing.

The idea was one
that came to me
accidentally in
semi-submersion
and I naturally
and thoughtlessly
fulfilled it.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

