Coffee Women

I think about coffees
like I think about old
and present lovers.
The one I am attached to
now is nice but I still
think about the others.

Where I feel like I
want to go when I am
filled with silence
depends on a kind of
inexpressible beat-based
dance-ability.

[chorus]
The roast is on the go
the beans are picked in big baskets
I live for the afterglow
the upbeat is fantastic
I hold it there and wait for
escape to come and rescue me
indelicately.

On my lips on the tongue is
the range from sweet to
deadly and beyond.
Old school and the city
both of them sitting down
for a conversation.

A dark roast is perfect
but a green flavor reminds
me of you.
A change is as good as
traveling from Italy to
Timbuktoo.

The roast is on the go
the beans are picked in big baskets
I live for the afterglow
the upbeat is fantastic
I hold it there and wait for
escape to come and rescue me
indelicately.

[verse]
Eb9 ///  ////
C7 /// F9 ///
E9 ///  ////
C7 /// F9 ///

[chorus]
Eb9 /// ////
F7 /// ////
F7 / G7 /  Cm7 ///
G7 / Ab7 / Cm7 ///
Cm7 / Ebdim7 / Abm7 / Gm7 /
F7 ///  Fm7 ///

[buffer]
G7 /// ////
C7 /// Gm7 ///

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

