Fashion

Look at me
instead of the others
do not look away from me
do not go about your business
without paying a compliment
or at least an unordinarily
long glance at my
clothes.

We are but paint applied
on the canvas of finely woven
fabric and assorted metallic
fasteners to keep eyes in line.

I have money
in disposable amounts
with no need for necessities
I can spend it on announcing who
I want you to think I am
please think along the lines
of my cuts and stitches
and judge me.

Here I am
for your consumption
my breasts and my ass
here they are to be approved
for you to want to deeply stroke
but keep your distance
this is only me
on display.

Bird flighty
flock flashingly
significant science of movement
meant to mean only contemporaneously
catching the glint of the orbs
to cover night’s avarice
and day’s tedium
with feathers.

We are but paint applied
on the canvas of finely woven
fabric and assorted metallic
fasteners to keep eyes in line.
[verse]
F7 /// C7 ///
Gm7 /// Bb6 / Gm7 /
Em7 /// D ///
C /// G ///
Am7 /// Am11 /
Am11 / Gm11 ///
Bm7 /// D9 /// Gm7 /// C /// ////

[chorus]
Gm7 / Am7 / D ///
Am7 ///  E // Am
F / Ab / C // G7
F C //  G7 ///

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fashion

  1. philessatry says:

    “I can spend it on who I want you to think I am” – Love these lines, thank you for sharing. You earned a follow with this one and I look forward to reading more of your work.

Leave a Reply

