Will Nor Need

The moon is neither friend nor foe
huge and small and distant as Ba&al
round and full and slivered as Loki
my neighborhood trees protect me
from its power from its base desire
to mirror me and steal my fire.

My wife is neither friend nor foe
more like the Biblical clay
the clay of my fashioning in the beginning
the clay of my feet when I am dreaming
the clay I eat when turned to bread
dipped in oil from the endless pot.

My most persistent tempations
the goblins in my self-built tower
are neither friendly nor pernicious
but only scampering in their hunger
like me until they can feed then
return to neither will nor need.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

