Overdue Backlash

Certainly newsworthy
but not a real surprise
the hunted are on the hunt
in overdue backlash.

Who is in charge here?
Fire the whole country
we’ll get by on severence pay
and our tribal traditions.

What did you say and don’t mumble
say it again and I’ll give you my answer
one two three in the head and neck
cop, criminal, warrior, gangster.

My brother said it was crazy
his reactions were impassioned
it’s been going on for generations
except for the backlash.

In the streets dark as a magazine
the law lies in the hands
of the man with the most adrenalin
and god on his side.

What did you say and don’t mumble
say it again and I’ll give you my answer
one two three in the head and neck
cop, criminal, warrior, gangster.

He was wrong so I shot him
I was right so I pulled the trigger
nobody watching but the world
burning up in anger.

Certainly newsworthy
but not a real surprise
the hunted are on the hunt
in overdue backlash.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

