Stacy Portrait

[Stacy is my adopted litle sister]

What I am I am without
apology or consideration for
lack or slip or foundation.

My mother could not be one
I have gone far beyond her
black stumbling shiftlessness.

Found long ago a sensory way
tell me how I should act or be
and find yourself bad history.

In as many places and directions
as I have lived my hair says hello
with a smile of daffodil yellow.

My feeling like is the final word
right foot knows only the left
shifting balances out the curse.

Comfort comes from inside out
what kids want and mothers too
is pride and a blanket true or not.

I try too hard to try not at all
on my isle in a sea of strangers
surviving answers in small pleasures.

Proven I am and still here
what’s dear to me few can know
the ringing freedom in my ear.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stacy Portrait

  1. Keep persevering and remain strong. The tough times shall pass.

    • mrsorenson says:

      Actually, this was a portrait of my little sister, although put in first person voice. She was born in poor circumstances, grew up with us and was adopted, and has had a life of trouble, broken relationships and a long string of bad jobs. She’s looking at 60 at the tough times have not passed.

      • There are plenty of people that have been through the struggle and came out on top. But your life only changes from a positive perspective, devotion to a passion, and the will and determination to learn daily. It’s never too late.

      • mrsorenson says:

        what an arrogant, know-it-all, immature, new-agey crock of shit comment

      • You’re hilarious. Encouragement isn’t nearly as appreciated as it should be. I was only stating as long as you’re alive; it’s never too late to turn things around. Having a negative perspective won’t be conducive to making a positive change. The facts shouldn’t make you angry, they are designed to set you free. I’m not God, and don’t know it all, nor will I ever have that privilege. Every human being has fallacies and shortcomings.

      • mrsorenson says:

        Poetry is bigger than you have a view for.

      • Keep hating. I love it. Have a splendid weekend.

Leave a Reply

