Vegas by Midnight

Vegas by noon
too hot for retreads
from sun to sun the horizon spreads.

Vegas by habit
bad good or stubborn
all day in bed all night in the tub.

Vegas by midnight
Orion is Cancerous
I see glow of negligence
I hear flavors and taste ice
on my ill-mannered tongue
been driving and singing
the blues of my sixties
all dazzling and over with.

Vegas by four
from the dry south
smelling oil and brakes in my mouth.

Vegas by nine
sun still straight up
miles of hunter and hunted parading.

Vegas by midnight
the expanses are moonlit
I see snow in my mind
I hear waves left unfounded
on my soft leather shoulders
is the great weight of losing
all the care of my cares
and all desire for bamboozling.

Vegas just around
the rise run aground
the power plant and lines whistling.

Vegas every March
a week is too much
I hear the ocean calling me back.

Vegas by midnight
the expanses are moonlit
I see snow in my mind
I hear waves left unfounded.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

