Sides

My rowdy and rambunctious side
had itself a good time last night
like a dog it dug its way under
the high fence I keep it behind
and it prowled the streets until
coming home was all downhill.

Sometimes my mind escapes this
realm of mischief and mistake
it knows the way back again
to the place poetry comes from
I make notes and edit until
the rhymes and stanzas roll downhill.

Strong side and weak in the same room
which is the groom, which the bride
taking turns being my guide?

I have anger in me don’t you?
It is tied to what we all do and don’t
when the dust and smog of laziness
accumulates in a common craziness
we will cough, sputter and scream until
we learn how to walk uphill.

My romantic side is tempted
to express itself until emptied
it wants to reach out to children
they are the approaching future
we must trust them to fulfill our
promises busted and spilled.

My pragmatic side is stunted
my scientific side blunted
I have sides I have no name for
divided, quiet and amplified
I will sing and play my music until
my uphill balances my downhill.

Strong side and weak in the same room
which is the groom, which the bride
taking turns being my guide?

[verse]
C /// ////
F /// ////
G /// ////
A7 /// ////
Gm7 /// ////
Eb7 / D7 /  F6 /  G6 /
C / F7 / C ///

[chorus]
Am11 ///  E7b5 ///
C6 ///  E7 ///
Am11 / D7b5  G7 / A /
Ab7 / G7 /

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in poem, poetry, song, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

