California No More

I am reading about California
I am dressed like California
a morning cool copies old California
but there is no more California.

The beach overlooks where I’m headed
I’m headed where the rich overlook the poor
there are no poor in California
on the beach everyone is equal.

Up the canyon you are not seen
the color of turning passes for green
up the canyon stones chase each other
how many ways are there up the canyon?

On the bus at five every morning
destination where nobody really lives
the gardener and the nanny will marry only
when they can get the same day off.

Half the bands are seventy years old
half the bands are too young to drink
they all have names that make you think
there’s more too it than that.

Sipping pesticide on the rocks
I’ve got a limo to go two blocks
going across town takes so long
by the time you get their your clothes are wrong.

I am a product of California
backs bent over most of California
rows and rows of me and you there
step on the gas don’t breathe the air.

I am reading about California
I am dressed like California
a morning cool copies old California
but there is no more California.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

