Old Cranks More Chances

I cannot drive this old Oldsmobile steady
I feel like yanking it all the way left at eighty
when the wheels lock will they lock too tightly
with the same change changing until it hits itself?
If I survived would you give me a chance
to revive this love on its own embers?

I opened my eyes to this too tall doctor
a gurney on squeaky wheels and me strapped to it
excitement and lights and all I could think of
was how my grandfather fell off his tractor
then sat on the side of his bed til he died.
If I asked questions would you make up answers
to reignite the fever out of its embers?

My life was all straight until it was askew
I think I was infected the first time I saw you
I cared about carelessness pas du tout
the slow speed of my light was absolute.
If I needed a new grill and radiator would
you go to the junkyard and rebuild my front end?

I am in therapy in the hands of the multitudes
with a gnarled cane and aggravated attitude
two rows of bottles one pills and one empties
at the border between ten different countries
transcendence shuffles in and out of my joints
flicking the flint to trip the wires in our embers.

If I needed a new grill and radiator would you
go to the junkyard to rebuild my front end?
If I asked questions would you make up answers
to reignite the fever out of its embers?
If I survived would you give me one last
chance to arrive at where we were headed
to revive the wheels of our unsurpassed
gravelly drive up switchback road?

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

