Three Visits to Del Rio

One of the three times I stopped in Del Rio
it was a hot summer as always in Del Rio
I was driving the white truck all loaded up
I stopped at a corner store for a soda pop
I sipped it and I watched the slow parade
sitting in the bright, not very shady shade
questions between my shoulder blades.

Who gets married when they are not sure?
Who starts something that has no end?
Is it a detour
when the river bends?

The second time I came through Del Rio
I was half dead looking for something to feel
it was a hundred degrees and still only May
I had been driving for most of the day
every kid in town was at the swimming pool
I paid my dollar and a half to get cool from
these questions burning inside my skull.

Who lumps together the good and the evil?
Who swallows poison to save their own life?
When does the river
cut like a knife?

The third and last time, at least so far
I passed through Del Rio I was in a bar
with no music and not a single woman
just that gordo bartender humming
Nashville tunes while it rained outside
rained like heaven had no pride
I was a desert with a river inside.

Who turns their back on a blessing?
Who wants experience without stressing?
Who makes a mess
and gives it to the river?

Who gets married when they are not sure?
Who starts something that has no end?
Is it a detour
when the river bends?

[verse]
G /// D ///
Am7 ///  E7 / Ab6 /  C ///  Bb7 AMa7 D7 /
G /// D ///
Am7 ///  E7 / Ab6 /  C ///  Bb7 AMa7 D7 /
G /// ////
C /// ////
D7 /// //// G /// ////

[B]
F#m7 ///  G6 ///
Am7 ///  E7 ///
A11 ///  D9 ///
Am7b5 ///  G ///

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Visits to Del Rio

  1. huzaifazoom says:

    Is it a detour/when the river bends?
    When does the river/cut like a knife?
    Who makes a mess/and gives it to the river?

    These three I take with three thank-yous.

Leave a Reply

