Replaced With Claws

Didn’t we lose the war by winning all the battles
don’t we take too much and then give back too little
don’t we drive so fast we miss that unmarked turnoff
out of the bubbling pot and into the fiery furnace.

Coming coming screws unscrewed and nails
replaced with claws and skin with scales.

I tried obeying the commandments but I couldn’t
there is something to be said for plain old goodness
that goodness that changes women into mothers
so rarely found between sisters and brothers.

Education dragged me out of my old dungeons
Jesus washed me clean of all my old religions
marriage was worse than hell then better than heaven
if I give my life back it’ll be even steven.

Maybe I should treat people the way the grass grows
and show thanks the way the secret sunrise shows it
rising with the baboons to praise the dung beetle
walking through the shadow to surprise other people.

Coming coming screws unscrewed and nails
replaced with claws and skin with scales.

The river went up fast and came down deadly
I was afraid in it and carried away steadily
out of my small town and into the dirty city
the girl pulling me out was the epitome of beauty.

I know what is ahead listening to her breath
watching her limbs to divine in the method
of the pharoah’s shamans who drank the blood
of the low waters to foretell the flood.

Coming coming screws unscrewed and nails
replaced with claws and skin with scales.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

