Nobody Outside

There is nobody outside
I walk the sad streets
morning and afternoon
I tried and and tried but
there is nobody outside.

I will buy whatever they sell me
and I will not ask questions
I will buy whatever they sell me
and I will ask no questions
I will market myself to the marketers
life will slide in their directions.

The parks are all empty
the sidewalks are all free
avenues and boulevards
cold miles of nobody
and the parks are all empty.

I wear the signs that make me a part
of the caste that runs the world
I bear the paraphernalia marking me
as one of the caste that runs the world
with all the magic names and totems
I am well-heeled and well-oiled.

A walk to the busiest
part of town leaves
behind what crowds
no longer believe
about living there.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

