Sea Does for Me

There is just enough weight
for foot to keep itself down
not like on the ground but lightly
lean-tug-pull-pushing
against the will of the waves
shreds of unknowable rub
on me purposelessly.

Friends and nominal family
all the folks who ought to
pay attention but they don’t
tell each other fatuously
loudly and all too assiduously
that there is a spacious plan
and the elements are in on it.

Through roughness that swells
and frolics and slaps while
several centers in my brain try
to maintain both access to air
by the nose and a keeping
of the limbs in the limbo
I crave I come unfocussed.

A bell I am momentarily
then people pass and converse
a chain of kelp or maybe
a plastic bag is between the legs
and I am not far enough away
from the fat middle of herded day
I see back on the beach.

People you know close people
all the nice folks who think
they comprehend but don’t
repeat each others’ theories
about us being so evolved
they fail to fathom
what the sea does for me.

They are too in my sea
they dash through my ocean
with sharp culture of assuredness
with horsepower that leaves us
and horses behind forgotten
they wipe and graze and taunt
against skin like snakes.

Against better judgment
in violation of the ninth degree
of bouancy I came here for
and entered into far from the
curbs asphalt square doors
and air-tight dirty looks
that haunt me on land.

People you know close people
all the nice folks who think
they comprehend but don’t
repeat each other’s theories
about us being so evolved
they fail to fathom
what the sea does for me.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

