Might Have

I was burdened by life
with unsweetened weight
hunched over I kept quiet
loudly I stuttered in the street.

The doctors whispered
the nurses said hang in there
I walked around and around the block
staring at the thin air.

The might have didn’t have to be
hell has no misery
like being unnecessarily needless.

I had a lot of friends
in school I wonder which
might have save me from
being thrown into the ditch.

Family back in Nebraska
would have made it worse
but here on this cold cold lake
no one shares my curse.

I cried out for help
my cry crossed itself
the daytime shriveled it
the night turned it to a ghost.

The might have didn’t have to be
hell has no misery
like being unnecessarily needless.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

