Without Clue Or Hint

I had a disease when I was sixteen
small and mouthy, her name was Christine.
She insisted that rocknroll was evil
and threw away my Sympathy for the Devil.

Perhaps I should have known better but didn’t
tossed into this pool without clue or hint.

In my twenties I cracked my skull
I got married and my life got annulled.
At midnight her crazy mother would phone
and it put her into this violent zone.

My eyes went black my heart transparent
I broke half my ribs in a crash named Karen
she was the north pole and I was the south
the world spun and all our bearings burned out.

Perhaps I should have known better but didn’t
tossed into this pool without clue or hint.

Then like a fool, full-knowing what I was doing,
I hunted downwhat I thought I was pursuing.
I walked into a bear trap and wrestled with a grizzly
and after a few children it was a split decision.

At that point I was ready for retirement
staying away from all ambulances and sirens
still every dangerous once in a while
I would kiss a woman and go senile.

A jump off the garage onto the concrete
with a co-worker’s sister who was just too sweet.
I overcame the cancer of the one-night stand
but was still too easily led by the hand.

Perhaps I should have known better but didn’t
tossed into this pool without clue or hint.

I was wrapped up tight in layers of web
when I met the superhighway named Deb.
Drove so fast it was mostly swerving –
the fear of god injuring the undeserving.

Blind we steered through storms and swamps
flying off cliffs into some great beyond.
I told her I was trouble, she grudgingly agreed,
but her stability kept pace with my speed.

Perhaps I should have known better but didn’t
tossed into this pool without clue or hint.

My lover approached my hospital bed
looked me in both eyes, this is what she said,
I hereby pronounce you whole and healed
If you want a life, let’s make a deal.

She sprains my fingers, she slaps my temples
she rings my ears with drumsticks and cymbals
I still feel that pain I once confused with passion
but now it’s fun instead of forty lashes.

Perhaps I should have learned a long time ago
You will not drown if you go with the flow.

[verse]
C /// ///
F7 /// Ebdim7 / G7 /
C / Ebdim7 / G ///
A9 / Bb6 / C9 ///  A7 /// D ///

[chorus]
Em7/B / Bb6 / Am7 / G7 / D /// G6 /// (2x)

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

