Back To Astray

It’s late
been down to the bar and back home
call that a date
a sad syndrome
walk the street where I live like a mouse
empty house
a catacomb.

Only one thing to do now
go back to square one
do what I know how
what I have always done
talk to the talking machine
it’s a clean sexy scene
If you know what I mean
and I mean what I say
when I am led astray.

Lock the doors
tape up the light-leaking windows
turn up the heat
start to enjoy
being as alone as a spider on its web
or a wolf in the gazebo
or Brando in the jungle.

Only two things left to do
sharpen the knife light the fire
no looking until  it’s through
’til the brain can cut the wire
’til the teeth come clean
’til the queen doth convene
the diamond circle of escape
I am pi in a black cape.

I am a pickpocketed telephone
squeezed dirty used useless
throw me away leave me alone
in this rekindled senselessness.

Used to be
I was dead in love and did it together
with my better half
my better and better
constriction brought blackest relief
eye of the needle
and the tip too.

Those were the days the days
of uncivilized fearlessness
nights of brutal fidelity
with finality in peonage
now she’s in Cincinnati
but I still get some mileage
out of going through the motions
of purging my sanity.

I am a pickpocketed telephone
squeezed dirty used useless
throw me away leave me alone
in this rekindled senselessness.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

