sweat and genius

I wish I could take it all back
all that time littering my highway
time chattering in church, time
kissing experimentally, so much time
writing what I didn’t know how to
time stacking bricks on sticks.

In a swamp of muddy assumptions
swimming in monsters without a paddle
life listens so pay attention
write a novel out of your nonfiction
don’t look for an ending in the middle
don’t look at all and you’ll get ahead.

If it is bad spit it out
if it is good knock on wood
jealous angels looking down
wish they had your thorny crown
you livened up your lively life with
little bits of sweat and genius.

What is IT I am putting on today?
IT is an old boot as anyone can see
sometimes IT and I don’t get along
and I’m tempted to say IT was wrong
but if IT was what would I be
where could IT have taken me?

If it is bad spit it out
if it is good knock on wood
jealous angels looking down
wish they had your thorny crown
you livened up your lively life with
little bits of sweat and genius.

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

