hey doctor

Hey doctor I feel like crap
I’m getting old got a pill for that?

Still inspired when nothing is normal
when it’s all good it’s all horrible.

From fire on the beach to ground zero
from terrible twos to sixty below.

A man from Mars doing the dueling
what Venusian denial I am in.

Her other half in a halfway house
too perfect to be a spouse.

Good enough is good enough
unless you want to play it rough.

Wrap up my feet in a sheet
head in bed afraid to sleep.

Costly cheaply my wave won’t break
leaving first thing when I awake.

Hey doctor I feel like crying
is that a symptom of living or dying?

For life no mercy for death no cure
but it’s premature to say for sure.

Am7 / Am7b5  /  E7 / E7b5 /
EbMa9 / Bb6 /   Am6 / F#dim7 /

About mrsorenson

all over the place
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hey doctor

  1. mybits says:

    I very much liked this.

    Fave lines:

    I’m getting old got a pill for that?

    Hey doctor I feel like crying
    is that a symptom of living or dying?

    For life no mercy for death no cure

    What do these refer to:
    terrible twos
    sixty below
    Man from Mars doing the dueling

    Did you ever come across a poem impersonating a kid talking to his doctor?

    Starts with: “Hey Doc”

    • mrsorenson says:

      Not everything in a poem “refers”. More often it associates – hopefully in ways that triggers the brain of the reader to go beyond the poem.

      terrible twos? do you have kids? and immediately follows by sixty (or just below) which is my age … that suggests a lifetime. Sixty below also ambiguously indicates coldness, immobility, in contrast to the fiery tenor of a two-year-old.

      The lifemercy deathcure line came to me (as an expansion/twist) from seeing the name of Reverend Gary Davis, who played sang and mayb wrote the great song ‘Death Don’t Have No Mercy”. That song, along with various religious views – some accepted and some rejected in my just-below-sixty years – argues that death and life are phases of the same quest. And so I remind myself that what a toddler quests for I quest for as a grandpa. Feeling bad is really, poetically, feeling good.

Leave a Reply

